New Mexico Emissions Laws
The state of New Mexico emissions testing is required for many original registrations and for annual registration renewals. There are notices that are sent out annually for vehicle owners that tell them when they should have an emissions test completed as well as whether they are required. The inspection and maintenance program in New Mexico consists of five separate parts.
Below are the different parts of the inspection and maintenance program:
- In OBDI tests will be completed on vehicles that have been manufactured after 1996
- For vehicles that were manufactured after 1995, a tailpipe exhaust analysis will be completed
- A pollution control equipment test will be completed by an inspector
- There will be a visible emission and smoke test
- The gas cap will be tested
Below are the various cars, trucks, motorhomes RVs required New Mexico emissions test:
- If the vehicle is newer than 1975, is registered in our commutes in Bernalillo County and weighs between thousand and 10,000 pounds
- For vehicles that were manufactured between 1975 in 1986 an annual inspection will be required
- For a vehicle that was manufactured after 1986 it will be required to undergo a test every two years
- Diesel vehicles and hybrids will be required to pass the visible emissions test at the headquarters test station if ownership changes
In New Mexico and emissions test is valid for 90 days and is required when you are looking to reinstate a suspended registration or to complete an original or renewal registration. If you purchase a vehicle from a used car dealer, they are required to provide you with a New Mexico emissions test, but you are required to receive it yourself if you purchase it from private owner.
There are exemptions for the New Mexico emission testing and you will not need to have one done if your vehicle is older than 1975, if your new vehicle is under four years old, if you have a motorhome, or if your vehicle weighs more than 10,001 pounds.
There are nearly 120 air care stations located in Albuquerque, Rio Rancho, Los Lunas, and Sandia Park. You may also be able to find auto dealers and auto shops that conduct inspections as well as inspectors who are certified by vehicle pollution management. These usually range between $15 and $20.
You must have your vehicle repaired if it fails the New Mexico emissions test and then you are required to have an emissions re-test after it has been repaired. You can repair the vehicle either at the station or at another location and the re-inspection will need to be conducted at the vehicle pollution management headquarters. There is no cost for a re-inspection.
It is possible to receive an extension if you are currently out-of-state or if your vehicle is unavailable for inspection. You will need to file an affidavit of the vehicle unavailability and submitted to the vehicle pollution management office in order to receive this extension.
In order to keep our air quality and roads safe, it is important that we have our vehicles tested and maintained regularly. In order to do this the state of New Mexico has set up requirements in regards to inspections on vehicles that must be completed in a timely manner. It is your responsibility to have this testing completed before the expiration date.